Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

A new week, a new batch of books–both books finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday

20120117-111701.jpg

{Wherein we share what books we have read in the past week.}

&

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120819-185816.jpg

Visit Teach Mentor Texts for Jen & Kellee’s “original”.

{Wherein we share the titles we are currently reading.}

20120819-190103.jpg

 20120916-211509.jpg
Description from IndieBound

It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend, who has gone someplace no one can reach.

In the tradition of The Bell Jar, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, and Lisa, Bright and Dark comes this haunting first book told in poems, and based on the true story of the author’s life.

2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA) and 2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

My comment: I received this book from an elementary librarian, Mrs. DiBernardo (@gLibraryMel) and was intrigued by the description. As I started, it felt familiar but I couldn’t place it. Finally, I remembered that I had read it with a different cover. It was good a second time, in a very tragic, scary way. I wrote a “Post-it to page” entry about it to share with my students:

Since last Monday, my A Class has read:
 | | | | |
| | | | |
10
 
My B Class has read:
 | | | | |
| | | | |
| | | 
13
My C Class has read:
 | | | | |
6
20120819-191216.jpg
20120916-211530.jpg
A gift, recommended from Kim Krug (@MonkeysRead) at Monkey See, Monkey Do bookstore.]
I’ll also looking at:
[An ARC from Edelweiss, recommended by RJ Palacio.]
And after watching the trailer on Friday, from the library I reserved:
If you want a sneak peak into the series, check out the author’s Sunday post on the Nerdy Book Club blog.
Some of the books A Class is reading:
 Fortune Wookiee, Mockingjay, HardyBoys GN #20, Wednesday Wars, 100 Most Awesome things on the Planet, Ranger’s Apprentice #4, Beast of Noor, Wimpy Kid #4, Wimpy Kid #3, Harry Potter–Goblet, Bone #1, Between Shades of Gray, Hidden Child of the Holocaust
B Class Books:
 Wonderstruck, Monster Calls, Among the Imposters, Slam Dunk, Bloody Jack #1, Winter Hawk Star, Warriors, Hardy Boys GN #4 & 14, MS–Worst Years, Dripping Fang #2, Hunger Games, Red Pyramid
C Class Books:
 Darth Paper Strikes Back, Wimpy Kid #4, Hunger Games, The Ghost Sitter, Kobe Bryant Bio, Maximum Ride, Bad Girls Don’t Die, The Witches, Origami Yoda, Unwind

Sooo…… What are YOU reading??? Please leave a comment and let me know.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I loved Unwanteds! I wouldn’t have recognized Stop Pretending… except for the old cover. I have it in my library and it’s quite popular with my girls that love depressing, sad books. I usually avoid this genre. What’s the cool “Post It to Page” you mentioned?

    • I would recommend the book. Quick read and quite powerful. And hope at the end.

      I’ve reserved Unwanteds from the library–waiting. My students were VERY excited about it.

      My colleague @brentjpeterson just finished FALSE PRINCE and highly recommends it.

      Did you read my post-it to page? Students keep track of their thoughts on Postits and then pull a good one off and expand thinking. My students did it with WONDER. This was my model.

  2. Hey there Mr. E. I thought 33 minutes was pretty good. Also a fairly quick read. Comes out on 1/1/13 I believe. RJ said she liked it so why not? You are one ambitious reader! Love it.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s