11.19 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

A new week, a new batch of books–both books finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday

20120117-111701.jpg

{Wherein we share what books we have read in the past week.}

&

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120819-185816.jpg

Visit Teach Mentor Texts for Jen & Kellee’s “original”.

{Wherein we share the titles we are currently reading.}

20120819-190103.jpg

After all my Nerdy Book Club friends spent the weekend with each other and an amazing group of authors at the annual National Council for Teachers of English convention (NCTE 2012), I wanna go to next year’s annual conference in Boston. I started looking over this five page document to see what kind of proposal I can make. Anyone with me?

[click the document to go to the website]
 
Take a look at this list of authors who attended this year’s conference in Las Vegas.
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
Since last Monday, my A Class has read:
 |||||
|||||
|||||
||
17
My B Class has read:
 | | | | |
| | | | |
| | 
12
My C Class has read:
 | | | | |
| | | | |
| | 
12
20120819-191216.jpg
 
I started reading this aloud to my daughters. It’s clever so far. I’m curious to see how Edward responds to being dressed in ladies clothing.
These are the books my students are currently reading.
[Check back at the end of the day to see the cool spinning pictures.]
Thumbnail_large
Thumbnail_large
Thumbnail_large

Sooo…… What are YOU reading??? Please leave a comment and let me know.

(For every parent who leaves a comment with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…)

Thanks,
David Etkin
 
4 thoughts on “11.19 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Edward Tulane is one of my all-time favorite read alouds. I was a Nerdy Guest Blogger about it once – I used How to Read Literature Like a Professor by Thomas Foster (who is writing one for middle grade books that comes out in the spring) with it to discuss things like allusions and symbolism with my fifth graders. They love it! I haven’t read it to my 4th graders this year yet, but I want to.

    • I’ll have to go back and find that post–it rings a bell. I read it before I knew just WHO Holly Mueller was. Thanks for commenting.

      I was just reading it to my daughters as they waited for the bus. We just met Ernest, King of the Garbages.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

