12.17 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

A new week, a new batch of books–both books finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday                  &                    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg                20120819-185816.jpg

{Sharing what books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

20121202-215616.jpg

[Wow. And wow. Keep your eyes open for this one coming next year. It starts out in Krakow as the Nazis take over, then moves the reader through the Jewish ghetto and many more concentration camps. Some infamous characters and locations are on display here. This is a frightening true history based on the life of Jack Gruener (though the author admits he has “taken some liberties with the time and events to paint a fuller and more representative picture of the Holocaust as a whole.”)
 
§ § §
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
Since last Monday, my A Class has read:
|||||
|||||
|||||
||
17 books
My B Class has read:
 |||||
|||||
|||||
||||
19 books
My C Class has read:
|||||
|||||
|| 
12 books
20121202-215626.jpg
Infinity-ring-book-2
[I started Divide and Conquer right after the last one, but then I brought home….
and I couldn’t stand it looking at me on my bedside table. So I started reading it Saturday and I’m hooked. I’m looking forward to talking about it with some of my students. I’ve started a Pinterest board with the poems and artwork referenced in the book: 
§     §     §

Before you see what the students are reading… what are you reading? Please leave a comment and let us know—and show the students that reading isn’t just a “school” thing.

 

Thanks to Mrs. Andrews and Mrs. Denman for already leaving comments!

(For every parent who leaves a comment with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…)

[Check back at the end of the day to see the cool spinning pictures of what my students are reading.]

Thumbnail_large
Thumbnail_large
Thumbnail_large

Thanks,
David Etkin

 

 

15 thoughts on “12.17 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. I just finished “Inside a Dog” by Alexandra Horowitz! Now I know why our silly puppy does some of the funny things that he does!

  2. I am soon going to be reading “The Secret Language of Feelings.” It was just recommended to me and I received a Barnes & Noble Gift Card in the mail today! Meant to be! 🙂

  3. I am starting Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol today. It was a yearly requirement when I was in Grammar School. I’m passing the tradition on this year.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

