1.28 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

A new week, a new batch of books–both books finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg 20120819-185816.jpg

{Sharing what books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

WHOA-WHOA-WHOA! First things first–

Today is the big day. The ALA Youth Media Awards will announce the big winners in youth literature.

This is the Academy Awards for materials for youth and teens. Here is the blurb from their site: 

Each year the American Library Association honors books, videos, and other outstanding materials for children and teens. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, guide parents, educators, librarians, and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by committees composed of librarians and other literature and media experts, the awards encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

I will be watching them LIVE at 11:00 EST here.

20121202-215616.jpg

[OK–in the interest of full disclosure, I mostly finished this book. It was due back at the library before I I got all the way through. I made it about 3/4 through, though. Amazing stuff.]
[What would you do if everywhere you looked you saw visions of a horrific crash… at a location with which you were familiar… that was going to kill people you knew? Let’s face it–everyone would think you were loco en la cabeza if you said it aloud. And yet, you knew (maybe?) that it was going to happen. Top that off with a Romeo & Juliet/Hatfields & McCoys-type family feud that keeps a relationship apart, and you’ve got Crash: Visions–Book One by Lisa McMann. I’m ready for the next book. (PS–Due to some language, I would not recommend this to my 6th grade students.) ]
Screen Shot 2013-01-27 at 9.20.53 PM
§ § §
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
Since last Monday, my A Class has read:
10 books
My B Class has read:
13 books
My C Class has read:
9 books
20121202-215626.jpg
 
§     §     §
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
{Thanks to Mr. Peterson for the logo.}
Still hoping for:
 

Parents and students: remember, the False Prince book order and $ is due tomorrow. We want to get the order in so we can receive the books and start reading! I’m looking forward to talking it over with you and Skyping with Ms Nielsen.

And I’d like to get my hands on
 

YALSA announces 2013 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults finalists:

  • Bomb: The Race to Build – and Steal- the World’s Most Dangerous Weaponwritten by Steve Sheinkin, published by Flash Point/Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group.

Cool interview with the author here (and you can hear him read a bit from the book).

Before you see what the students are reading… what are you reading? Please leave a comment and let us know—and show the students that reading isn’t just a “school” thing.

(For every parent who leaves a comment with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…)

[Check back at the end of the day to see the cool spinning pictures of what my students are reading.]

Click the picture below for A Class SpinCam
Thumbnail_large
Click the picture below for B Class SpinCam
Thumbnail_large
Click the picture below for C Class SpinCam
Thumbnail_large

Thanks,
David Etkin
19 thoughts on “1.28 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. hi this is rana and reenas mom, and i just wanted to say that im in the midle of reeding DOES MY HEAD LOOK BIG IN THIS by RANDA. they actualy let me read it by my self and it is goin on well.

  2. Finished Heaven’s Keep late last Thursday night. As I got thru it I did not find that I needed to go back to the older books for pieces. Friday I started Chill Factor by Sandra Brown. I love my mysteries/suspense and this story takes place during a winter storm which seemed appropriate with the temperatures we were experiencing last week.

      • You got it! Many days I wish I didn’t have to go to work and could sit in the quiet of the house and enjoy a good read. I can usually plan on an hour each Saturday morning while Katelyn is on the ice at hockey practice.

  3. I just finished “Wonder”. What a great book to share with your students. It was an amazing story. Starting “The One and Only Ivan” as per Jacob’s recommendation.

    • That is SO COOL that you are reading books that Jacob is reading. I’m glad that you are enjoying them too. WONDER was powerful!

      Did Jacob tell you (did he know?) that IVAN won the Newbery award today? Amazing. So many of my students have read it due to me showing the trailer. How exciting.

      I look forward to hearing back from you. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Reading What to Expect the First Year… have to catch up on all the baby things I forgot 🙂
    Our new little man has been keeping me so busy I still haven’t finished it and he’ll be 8 weeks old this week! Oh but what fun it is!

  5. I’m Danielle Sabin’s stepfather and I just finished A Memory of Light from Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson. I started reading his books when I was in the Navy in 1995 and stayed with the story for fourteen books and 18 years. If you like fantasy novels, I would highly recommend this series!

    • I’ve never heard of it, but I’ll look it up. What kind of fantasy is it? High fantasy? Futuristic? Dystopian? Paranormal? There is so much variety.

      Thank you for sharing your reading with us. I hope Danielle told you the good news about IVAN… :~}

  6. Just re-read Unshaken by Francine Rivers. It is a retelling of the Ruth, Naomi and Boaz story. Excellent and inspiring!

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

