{Whatever Wednesday}

Whatever Wednesday — a chance to post something I’ve seen that I’m diggin’. Though often a cool quote or poster, it might simply be a picture.

Enjoy!… and consider posting your own Whatever.


Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him. –Maya Angelou #reading #quote

Maya Angelou

Here’s a GREAT poem from Ms Angelou–Caged Bird”.


P.S.–Remember last week I shared Danielle and her signed copy of The One and Only Ivan? That’s now the signed Newbery Award-winning The One and Only Ivan.

Photo Jan 28, 11 58 02 AM

[I got to watch the announcement LIVE with my per 5-6 class.]

Congratulations, K. A. Applegate.

Congratulations, Danielle.

Photo Jan 22, 4 45 16 PM

Congratulations to us readers who get to enjoy this fabulous book.

How did this come about? I sent out a little Tweet:

Screen Shot 2013-01-22 at 8.58.28 PM

[Danielle was one of the 41 students who signed up to read IVAN after watching the trailer. She couldn’t wait to get a classroom copy. In fact, a few kids have gone out to purchase their own.]

Mrs. Applegate responded publicly…

Screen Shot 2013-01-22 at 8.58.37 PM

…then messages me later to ask if she could send Danielle a signed copy. I almost fell off my seat.

When Danielle opened the package, I took some pictures and sent one along to Mrs. A. She responded quickly:

Screen Shot 2013-01-22 at 8.56.07 PM

No, Mrs. Applegate. You made my day. And Danielle’s. And inspired the rest of the students who now see how kind and real authors are. You’ve made fans for life.

7 thoughts on “{Whatever Wednesday}

      • It did get to me, and a fascinating style of writing. Sent a recommendation to some others I thought would like it. They also hate me for hating their emotions. 🙂

  1. This is so great! Ben once sent a letter to Christopher Paolini with a little poster he had made of the Inheritance Cycle books on the front. Paolini sent it back signed along with a letter addressing book ideas Ben had brought up. Ben was on cloud nine! We will have to check out Mrs. Applegate’s new book just because she is cool. =)

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

