The First SUMMER VACA IS FOR READING Postcard arrives

Heading into last summer I gave out a SUMMER VACATION IS FOR READING postcard to each student. One design option has a beach scene and one has a camping scene. The return rate wasn’t great last year, but I didn’t let that deter me this year. I again printed, cut, and passed them out. You know why? It gets ME excited, and is cool for the students who decide to respond. I tried not to count–or take personally–the postcards that were dropped on the floor or in the classroom or hallway accidentally left behind. And here is why:

The first postcard recently arrived in my mailbox.

There was much rejoicing.

Here is the Postcard from Samantha L.:

20130718-162635.jpg

20130718-162647.jpg

Before we take a closer look at her three books, just a reminder that this is the same Samantha who made a video response to The Wig in the Window after she read the ARC that Ms Kittscher sent me.

And here is a picture of Sam and her friend/classmate/my former student Julia at Yankee Stadium where they BROUGHT THEIR BOOKS to pose for this summer reading pic:

20130718-163154.jpg
I’ll even pardon Sam’s Cowboys hat this one time (did you see the bat she’s holding?). Julia is reading The Testing. Many students were very excited about reading it after seeing the trailer.

It does this teacher’s heart good to see pics n’ postcards like this. For every student who says, “I’m not reading this summer!” there are students like these. Ahhhhhh….

So–the books.

Book one needs no introduction in the YA reading community:

20130718-163715.jpg

Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2012 Kids’ Next List
“A cancer support group might seem like an unlikely place to meet your true love, but for Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters the stars align and these two sweetly cynical souls find each other at an interesting moment in their lives. In a story brimming with mystery, humor, and lots of love, Hazel and Augustus show readers that life is made up of a million moments worth noticing — much like a night sky filled with stars.”
— Julie Wilson, The Bookworm, Omaha, NE

Description
TIME Magazine’s #1 Fiction Book of 2012!
“The Fault in Our Stars is a love story, one of the most genuine and moving ones in recent American fiction, but it’s also an existential tragedy of tremendous intelligence and courage and sadness.” —Lev Grossman, TIME Magazine

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love

I wouldn’t recommend this book to a seventh grader… but I’m sure curious how Samantha liked this.

• • •

.

20130718-164504.jpg

Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2012 Kids’ Next List
“Every Tuesday, the castle presents Celie with a new adventure by adding onto itself. Sometimes it’s a new room; other times it’s a tower. But no matter what it is, you can bet Celie will be there, adding to one of her maps. It’s all fun and games until her parents, King and Queen Glower, are ambushed and are gone without a trace. Now it’s up to Celie, her siblings, the Castle, and its love for them to protect the kingdom from outsiders. I loved how each step Celie took in the castle led to a new surprise and an exciting revelation!”
— Clare Nelson, The Velveteen Rabbit Bookshop, Fort Atkinson, WI

Description
Tuesdays at Castle Glower are Princess Celie’s favorite days. That’s because on Tuesdays the castle adds a new room, a turret, or sometimes even an entire wing. No one ever knows what the castle will do next, and no one-other than Celie, that is-takes the time to map out the new additions. But when King and Queen Glower are ambushed and their fate is unknown, it’s up to Celie, with her secret knowledge of the castle’s never-ending twists and turns, to protect their home and save their kingdom. This delightful book from a fan- and bookseller-favorite kicks off a brand-new series sure to become a modern classic.

• • •

20130718-165216.jpg

A wonderfully whimsical debut that proves ordinary people can do extraordinary things

In the mountain town of Remarkable, everyone is extraordinarily talented, extraordinarily gifted, or just plain extraordinary. Everyone, that is, except Jane Doe, the most average ten-year-old who ever lived. But everything changes when the mischievous, downright criminal Grimlet twins enroll in Jane’s school and a strange pirate captain appears in town.

Thus begins a series of adventures that put some of Remarkable’s most infamous inhabitants and their long-held secrets in danger. It’s up to Jane, in her own modest style, to come to the rescue and prove that she is capable of some rather exceptional things.

With a page-turning mystery and larger-than-life cast of characters, Lizzie K. Foley’s debut is nothing short of remarkable.

You can have a little fun looking over the author’s website.

§ § §

And that, my friends, is that–the first SUMMER VACATION IS FOR READING postcard recap. If you’re a reader of this blog and would like to send me a postcard, email me at SummerReadingPic@gmail.com and I’ll send you my address. You can also send me a picture of you reading in a fun, summer location. I’ll include the picture in my end-of-summer/beginning-of-school slide show. Make sure we can see the cover of the book :-}

Happy summer reading, y’all!

7 thoughts on “The First SUMMER VACA IS FOR READING Postcard arrives

  1. Pingback: Summer Whatever Wednesday= Summer Reading Postcards #4 & 5 | {Eat the Book}

  2. Hi David. Your post made me smile. I sent all of my students home with a self-addressed note and stamped already – so they could tell me about their reading too. I love how you designed yours. How did you do it? I have only received 3 cards so far. I was just wondering if I had made a mistake, but this post made it worth it. Hoping to get more notes and hoping you get more post cards.

    • Hi Ryan. Thanks for taking the time to peruse my post. Who doesn’t like getting mail, right? It’s funny how happy these cards make me.

      I designed the cards in Word after checking for the specifications with the postal service. Just get a picture and put text in front of it. The back is a little more challenging. If you DM me your address, I can send you my template when I get back my computer.

      Happy reading notes to you!

  3. I love it! I hope you get lots more and share them with us. 🙂 I think it’s a great idea. The pic of the them posing with the books reminds me of Mr. Schu’s road trips.

    • I’ll tweet the author’s response to the postcard in a sec. I’m glad you liked them. Did u watch Green’s read aloud of chap.1? I forgot how good it was.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

