1.13 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #WeWereLiars @elockhart

A new week, a new batch of books—both finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg 20120819-185816.jpg

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

This was a fascinating book. I’m glad Ms. Minnich drew my attention to its presence on Netgalley. It was also fun having multiple conversations about the end of the book on Twitter, Facebook, and text. Mysterious!

I’m looking forward to hearing and seeing readers’ reactions to this book once it hits the shelves. Its birthday is on May 13th.

From Amazon:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

§
Looking for some good picture books? Here are a few:
{Dan Santat with some more great illustrations…}
§
What were PARENTS reading last week? Let’s check it out… (Thank you, commenters, for contributing to our book awareness. Reading is not a “school thing”.)

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

§
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
These past few weeks, my A Class read:
17 books
My B Class read:
15 books
My C Class read:
19 books
Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
 
13412377
This is the conclusion to Starters.
Starters (Starters, #1)
I learned last year that a two-book series is called a duology.
Codename Zero

This week, students will be leaving their current reading in the comments.

I hope it works ;-}

Thanks,
David Etkin
65 thoughts on “1.13 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #WeWereLiars @elockhart

  1. I finished a Dr.Seuss biography, Who was Ben Franklin (biography), and I re-read Diary of a wimpy kid 3: The Last Straw. It’s good to reread a book once in a while.

  2. Pingback: 1.21 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #SureSignsofCrazy #ShadowThrone | {Eat the Book}

  3. Woohoo! I finished Divergent…although I neglected housework to do so :/. Now onto Insurgent. I am enjoying them very much.

  4. I finally finished The Sixth Man. I never guessed the ending. What a surprise. This week I’ve started Heat Lightning by John Sanford. Time for some new suspense! Don Winkle

  5. McDougald A the book i have finished is in a glass grimy and the book I am currently
    Reading is I funny a middle school story.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

