1.21 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #SureSignsofCrazy #ShadowThrone

A new week, a new batch of books—both finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg 20120819-185816.jpg

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

Description

Love can be a trouble word for some people. Crazy is also a trouble word.
I should know.
You’ve never met anyone exactly like twelve-year-old Sarah Nelson. While most of her friends obsess over Harry Potter, she spends her time writing letters to Atticus Finch. She collects trouble words in her diary. Her best friend is a plant. And she’s never known her mother, who left when Sarah was two.
Since then, Sarah and her dad have moved from one small Texas town to another, and not one has felt like home.
Everything changes when Sarah launches an investigation into her family’s Big Secret. She makes unexpected new friends and has her first real crush, and instead of a “typical boring Sarah Nelson summer,” this one might just turn out to be extraordinary.

Sarah is a plucky, quirky character who I rooted for all the way through this thought provoking book. She had so much character, life, and insight. She has some big questions to answer over this summer of her life. We learn that when one family member suffers from crazy, there is a domino effect on those who remain. I put To Kill a Mockingbird on my TBR list after reading this book. I enjoyed how Sarah wrote to Atticus Finch—an idea I just might have to try with my students…

We did a little Tweeting about Sure Signs of Crazy, too…

Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 10.46.35 PMScreen Shot 2014-01-20 at 10.47.02 PM

§

What were PARENTS reading last week? Let’s check it out… (Thank you, commenters, for contributing to our book awareness. Reading is not a “school thing”.)

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

§
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
These past few weeks, my A Class read:
18 books
My B Class read:
15 books
My C Class read:
7 books
Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
17667561
SO excited to get my hands on this ARC so I can finish The Ascendance Trilogy. I’m about halfway through.
Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 10.54.59 PM
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Here is a great interview with Mrs. Anderson on NPR:
Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 11.00.31 PM
 
13412377
This is the conclusion to Starters.
Starters (Starters, #1)
I learned last year that a two-book series is called a duology.
Codename Zero

This week, students will be leaving their current reading in the comments.

I hope it works ;-}

Thanks,
David Etkin
69 thoughts on “1.21 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #SureSignsofCrazy #ShadowThrone

  1. Pingback: 1.27 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #ShadowThrone | {Eat the Book}

  2. Still working on finishing up Insurgent. I think I would either be in Abnegation or Candor…I tend to think about others needs before mine and I’m a horrible liar :).

  3. The Shadow Throne is up next for me, too, after I finished this giant book (The Goldfinch) for book club. I love reading all your student and parent responses! You sold me on Sure Signs of Crazy. I also want to read Boy on the Wooden Box, and The Impossible Knife of Memory was very good!

  4. I am about to start one of the books for the battle of the books. I am going to read Hoot, By Carl Hiaasen.

    P.S. I like the idea of taking a picture of a part of a book that you like. I am going to start doing that

  5. I am just starting The Son Of Neptune by Rick Riordan. But before I start it, I need to read some shorter books so I can have my number for the marking period ⚡️😄⚡️

  6. Last week I read the book Capture the flag. This week I am reading the book powerless by Mattew Cody. This is a good book so far. 😃

  7. Right now, I’m reading ‘The President Has Been Shot!’ By James L. Swanson. It basically about the assassination of JFK. It’s a really great book so far.

  8. The book I am currently reading is the book the one and only Ivan Katherine Applegate.the book I have finished is the book I funny by James Patterson.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

