1.29 {Whatever Wednesday}: A former student on American Idol

Whatever Wednesday — a chance to post something I’ve seen that I’m diggin’. Though often a cool quote or poster, it might simply be a picture.

Enjoy!… and consider posting your own Whatever.


Sure, I usually focus on books…

but this is too cool to pass up.

Last Sunday I caught a headline in the Buffalo News. It informed me that a former Buffalo resident was going to be on American Idol. I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m an Idol fan, so this caught my attention.

Then I saw the picture… and that face looked familiar. Maybe a little hairier…

And I read the name… Carlton Smith.

I taught this guy years ago.

I dug up some information to share. Unfortunately, they didn’t focus on Carlton during the show, but he did get a golden ticket so I hope to see him in Hollywood… and beyond.

GOOD LUCK CARLTON!

From WBOY.com, a news station in West Virginia:

Morgantown, W.Va. – A West Virginia University Police Officer, Carlton Smith, 26, recently traded his badge in for a microphone for a weekend and headed to Boston, Mass. to audition for American Idol.

“It would just be a dream come true,” Smith said, “I couldn’t not take that opportunity, so I packed up and hit that road.”

Smith, a Buffalo, N.Y. native, loves to sing.  He explained that he sings from the time he gets up until he arrives at work.  The passion for singing and music runs in the family.  He grew up watching his sister, Akia, sing gospel tunes in church and decided to give it a try.  He pursued his passion of singing by practicing and taking chorus classes to better his singing voice.

He knew that he would have to make a solid career choice to continue with his passion and also pay the bills.

“I want to make my parents proud, and I knew I need a strong footing,” he said.  Smith graduated with a bachelor’s in criminology from WVU in 2009 and began doing different jobs around campus assisting the university before joining the WVU Police Department.

Smith enjoys helping students and residents, but he still wants to further the impact he has on the world.

“Music is one of the biggest ways to make an impact on a larger scale.  Everyone can relate to it. One person could listen to a song or 100 million people could listen to a song and they would all get something different out of it.  Either way, I want to be making a difference.  I want to help people, and I want to make a difference.”

Smith will be on tonight’s episode of American Idol.

 

More from WVUtoday.

9 thoughts on “1.29 {Whatever Wednesday}: A former student on American Idol

  1. That’s so cool! I hope he does well. I didn’t watch American Idol last year, but I heard it was good this year and that Harry Connick Jr. is hilarious. Maybe I’ll tune back in.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

