2.3 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #CodenameZero

A new week, a new batch of books—both finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg 20120819-185816.jpg

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

Codename Zero
Coming in February
Description

From Chris Rylander, author of The Fourth Stall, comes an incredibly funny and clever mash-up of middle-grade school story and spy adventure, in the vein of H.I.V.E. and NERDS.

There are places in the world where heroes are born. There are places where brave men and women fight a never-ending battle against evil in order to keep our country and all other countries safe. There are places where the fate of our planet is being decided, even at this very moment, the consequences of which will echo through history.

None of these places is in North Dakota.

Carson Fender, seventh grader and notorious prankster, knows this. He’s lived in North Dakota for his entire life, going to the same boring school every day, the same boring movie theater every week, the same boring state fair every year. Nothing ever changes, and nothing ever happens. That is, until today. Because today a desperate man hands him a package with a dire set of instructions. And that package is going to lead Carson to discover that there’s a secret government agency operating in his small, quiet North Dakota hometown.

And that this agency needs his help.

§

What were PARENTS reading last week? Let’s check it out… (Thank you, commenters, for contributing to our book awareness. Reading is not a “school thing”.)

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

§
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
These past few weeks, my A Class read:
20 books
My B Class read:
10 books
My C Class read:
16 books
Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
&
Here is a great interview with Mrs. Anderson on NPR:
Screen Shot 2014-01-20 at 11.00.31 PM
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
 
13412377
This is the conclusion to Starters.
Starters (Starters, #1)
I learned last year that a two-book series is called a duology.

This week, it’s back to the SpinCam. Take a look at these awesome kids and books:

 

Thumbnail_large

 

Thumbnail_large

 

Thumbnail_large

Thanks,
David Etkin
Advertisements

10 thoughts on “2.3 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #CodenameZero

  1. Pingback: 2.10 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #Flora&Ulysses #TheLittleAndroid | {Eat the Book}

  2. I was able to start Allegiant! The back and forth between Tris and Tobias is taking me a little time to get used to, but I’m excited to find out how it all ends.

  3. Since the semester has ramped up, I have still not finished last week’s novel. I have spent lots of time poring over my creativity assessment textbook. This week looks like it is going to be more of the same.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s