5.27 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #TheTesting #TheAbsolutelyTrueDiary

A new week, a new batch of books—both finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

20120117-111701.jpg 20120819-185816.jpg

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.}

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

With summer and nice weather coming on, I’m starting an “Outside book” (“real” book) and an “Inside book” (digital book). Outside books are good for sun (no glare), pool, and bonfire (before it gets too dark). Inside books are good for low-light reading, reading in bed, reading in the middle of the night—and it’s also where I get to read my ARCs.
This week’s OUTSIDE BOOK:
You want intense? Here it is. This is Survivor—but in this dystopian future, losing doesn’t mean you get to go home. Losing could mean death.
And yes, friends: People die in this book.
Don’t get too attached. Prepare to lose any character. Prepare for twists. Prepare to trust no one.
Though this does have echoes of Hunger Games and Matched and Maze Runner and Divergent, it is interesting enough to hold one’s attention and not come off as a copycat.
Now—to get my hands on the next two books in the trilogy.
Here is the trailer in case you missed it:
Keep your friends close and your enemies closer. Isn’t that what they say? But how close is too close when they may be one in the same? 

The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it. But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career. 

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one. 

But surely she can trust Tomas, her handsome childhood friend who offers an alliance? Tomas, who seems to care more about her with the passing of every grueling (and deadly) day of the Testing. To survive, Cia must choose: love without truth or life without trust.
INSIDE BOOK:
I didn’t have a book ready to go on my iPad so I searched what was available on the public library site. I don’t read any old thing, but look for a book that is on my VERY long TBR list.
Here it is.
I didn’t know much about it, except that it is highly recommended… and also one of the frequently-banned books. That’s a combination to get my attention.
This book was fascinating… and sad and funny and tragic and glorious and triumphant.
Got that? All those emotions live in this book.
Junior is an awesome, sincere narrator and story-teller. I’d recommend reading this when you make it to high school.
Description

Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author’s own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings that reflect the character’s art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he thought he was destined to live.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Alexie’s YA debut, released in hardcover to instant success, recieving seven starred reviews, hitting numerous bestseller lists, and winning the 2007 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.

 
What were PARENTS reading last week? Let’s check it out… 
(Thank you, commenters, for contributing to our book awareness. Reading is not a “school thing”.)

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

§
[Check back throughout the day for updates of my students’ reading.]
These past week, my 1&2 Class read
13
My 6&7 Class read
11
My 9&10 Class read
14
Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
INSIDE BOOK:
OUTSIDE BOOK:
TBA
I’ve listened to a bunch of this on audio, but now I’m going to be having weekly discussions on the chapters with others on Facebook. Should be interesting.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Boys of Blur finally showed up on the library’s site. Guess who’s first in line?
Screen Shot 2014-05-18 at 9.27.14 PM
 
Excited about this one after the trailer, reading reviews and hearing recommendations.
 

Thanks,
David Etkin
9 thoughts on “5.27 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #TheTesting #TheAbsolutelyTrueDiary

  1. On Saturday morning, I thoroughly enjoyed A Long Walk To Water as I sat in the sunshine and read it all in one sitting. Last week, I read an unusual book… As I Wake…it still has me wondering.

    • SO glad that you took the time to read ALWTW! Moving, isn’t it? We’re hoping to Skype with Salva on Wednesday. FINGERS CROSSED…

      Is that As I Wake by Elizabeth Scott? There is also a book soon-to-be-a-movie–IF I Wake.

  2. Getting my tween fix…City of Heavenly Fire came out today (which I had preordered). It’s the final book in the Mortal Instrument series.

    On deck, though, I return to adulthood for Barbara Kingsolver – Flight Behavior. I’ve loved her since The Poisonwood Bible.

  3. Hi David………..I just started The Fault In Our Stars. I’m only in chapter 3, but already feel close to the two main characters.

      • Yes,,,,,,,I’d love to see the movie. Want to read the book first. I’m also reading a book on the parables in the Bible….goes into more detail about the culture at that time.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

