11.17 It’s Monday! What are you reading? Too much! (And not enough)

Guess what today is!

 20120819-185816.jpg

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

& the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

Ummmm… A little bit of a lot of stuff.

How many books have my students read? What are they reading?

This week it’s each student’s job to post his or her own BookSelfie to his or her class’s Padlet. Due by tomorrow’s class!

Period 1&2

9 Books

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/12bookselfies

Period 5&6

11  Books

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/56bookselfies

Period 9&10

8 books

Parents are invited to participate in our journey as well. 

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s have a look back to check for parent comments.

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
 All of a sudden I’m reading three books….
On the iPad at night:
9781619633742_p0_v1_s260x420
{Due out January 27, 2015. Fun so far! A magic, question-answering pencil. And fun little references to books we love like The One and Only Ivan.}
5901796
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
courage
488dc060ada08c4b25019110.L
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
3 thoughts on “11.17 It’s Monday! What are you reading? Too much! (And not enough)

  1. Pingback: 11.24 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #AllTheAnswers #FieldTrip | {Eat the Book}

  2. I finally finished re-reading “Jane Eyre”! I enjoyed it a lot, although it is definitely more of a series of brilliant character portraits than a book with a compelling plot and narrative. To cleanse my reading palate, the book I start today will be, in many ways, the antithesis of “Jane Eyre.” It’s called “Bravo” by Greg Rucka. I first got to know Greg Rucka through his writing for comic books (Marvel, DC, and independent works). Then, I found out he was a novelist, as well. He wrote a series of books featuring a bodyguard named Atticus Kodiak, a series featuring an MI:6 agent named Tara Chace, and this current series featuring retired Delta Force operative, Master Sergeant Jonathan “Jad” Bell (“Alpha” was the first book, “Bravo” is the second.) Where “Jane Eyre” was fairly long (I read it on my Kindle, but the estimated page count was around 600), “Bravo” is short (around 300 pages). Where Charlotte Bronte wrote with eloquent and intricate language, Greg Rucka writes with a powerful, straightforward style. Basically, event though there’s a Lake Effect Snow Warning going on, I’m shifting from the lofty “Jane Eyre” to a summer beach read.

    I’m going to try to do this more and more. I have a lot of classics on my Kindle that I need to revisit. So, I may alternate from modern novels and series to established masterpieces. At least, that’s my goal!

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

