1.5 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #ToKillAMockingbird #Four

Guess what today is!

 20120819-185816.jpg

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

& the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

HAPPY 2015! A whole new year of reading is ahead!

It’s like walking through clean snow—like a blank canvas. What kind of mark will you make? Anything feels possible right now.

YES! I actually finished it. I liked huge parts of this book, but overall felt that this was a bit long-winded. I’m glad I persevered, since the main part of the story was so interesting and I liked the characters. Now I know why everyone references the father, Atticus, all the time. I’d like to meet him. Perhaps I will…when I watch the movie!
It was great to learn about the pre-Tris Four and how he came to be who he was. I also enjoyed getting a replay of familiar scenes through new eyes.
This would be a cool writing assignment: Rewrite an important scene from your book/our read-aloud from a different character’s POV. That’s a bit like fan fiction.

Today on the Padlets (see links below), students were charged with setting goals for themselves. Take a look at what they came up with….

Period 1&2

27 Books

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/12bookselfies

Period 5&6

45 Books

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/56bookselfies

Period 9&10

29 books

Parents are invited to participate in our journey as well. 

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s have a look back to last week to check for parent comments.

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
download
This book is fabulous. I can’t wait to spend more time with  it.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
courage
488dc060ada08c4b25019110.L
 0172e-11thplaguecover
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
7 thoughts on “1.5 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #ToKillAMockingbird #Four

  1. Pingback: 1.5 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #PayItForward #Ghostlight | {Eat the Book}

  2. Good morning and good back-to-schoolness to you!

    Having finished the classic “Frankenstein” before break, I was able to start (and finish) a new, decidedly non-classic book. It was a continuation of the Star Trek series. I won’t go into detail because it gets pretty byzantine, but it was very good. More of a political thriller than the usual space opera. And it’s fun to read the continuing adventures of characters that the TV shows and movies left behind years and years ago. An added dimension of fun is reading about the characters that Delaney and I have been watching on Netflix. She’s a chip off the old block and a huge fan of the Star Trek shows, especially The Next Generation. We’ve worked our way through classic Trek and the Next Generation and now we’re watching Deep Space Nine.

    Anyway, with my Star Trek book out of the way, I’m back to a classic. I’m ready to begin “Roughing It” by Mark Twain. I’ve read a lot of Twain’s writing, but never this book. I don’t even know a heck of a lot about it. I believe it’s a travelogue of sorts about a trip Twain took, heading west across America. I think it’s *mostly* non-fiction, which is part of the reason I haven’t read it before now. (I’m more of a fiction guy.) I’m guessing it’s an embellished version of his adventures and I’m excited to read Twain’s funny and cynical take on America in the days of the Wild West.

    • I think it’s great that you are such a diverse reader. Most people get stuck in one genre, but you are quite well-rounded. It’s also neat to see that you are spreading the love of reading and science fiction to your wonderful daughter.

      That reminds me – – did you see the Christmas Star Trek song?

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

