3.9 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #ElDeafo #TheTigerRising

Guess what today is!

 20120819-185816.jpg

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

& the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.21 AM

A graphic novel being recognized as a Newbery Honor book is a big deal. And this book is quite deserving. It’s been on my radar for quite a while—the Nerdy community has talked it up quite a bit. My colleague Michelle bought it and share it with one of her students, and I was quick to get in line to read it. It didn’t disappoint.
If you liked Smile, Sisters, or Drama, you’ll certainly like El Deafo.
IMG_7191

Flashback photo…

Oh, and bonus factoid: Cece is married to… Tom Angleberger, Mr. Origami Yoda himself.
Check out some of these extras:
I read The Tiger Rising years ago, and when a few students were reading it for some theme work, I peaked back at the first few pages…. and was hooked. I couldn’t wait to read more. I even read during my lunch break and during some planning times. Shhhhh. Don’t tell.  Beautiful and tragic and symbolic and deep. Read this if you haven’t.
Check out DiCamillo’s site.
And her PSA on the importance of Reading Aloud to Children:

This week we’ll be doing a SpinCam. Check back at the end of the day for our cool spinning book pictures.

Period 1&2

9 Books

Thumbnail_large

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/12bookselfies

Period 5&6

Thumbnail_large

14 Books

http://padlet.com/mretkinshms/56bookselfies

Period 9&10

Thumbnail_large
12 books

Parents are invited to participate in our journey as well. Parents, how about posting your own BOOKselfie? Or (and?) you can leave a comment on this post.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what you’re reading OR leaves a BOOKselfie on this week’s Padlet (links above), I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 10.32.08 AM
ARC due out August 4th (You guessed it—a Tuesday)
Summary from Barnes and Noble:

Overview

Newbery Honor–winning author Gennifer Choldenko deftly combines humor, tragedy, fascinating historical detail, and a medical mystery in this exuberant new novel.
San Francisco, 1900. The Gilded Age. A fantastic time to be alive for lots of people . . . but not thirteen-year-old Lizzie Kennedy, stuck at Miss Barstow’s snobby school for girls. Lizzie’s secret passion is science, an unsuitable subject for finishing-school girls. Lizzie lives to go on house calls with her physician father. On those visits to his patients, she discovers a hidden dark side of the city—a side that’s full of secrets, rats, and rumors of the plague.
The newspapers, her powerful uncle, and her beloved papa all deny that the plague has reached San Francisco. So why is the heart of the city under quarantine? Why are angry mobs trying to burn Chinatown to the ground? Why is Noah, the Chinese cook’s son, suddenly making Lizzie question everything she has known to be true? Ignoring the rules of race and class, Lizzie and Noah must put the pieces together in a heart-stopping race to save the people they love.

My church is doing a whole-church read of this book and we will meet in groups at people’s homes over the next few weeks to discuss it. I’ll be hosting a group at my house.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
 
This ARC is the companion to Levithan’s Every Day, fascinating book.
 0172e-11thplaguecover
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
11 thoughts on “3.9 It’s Monday! What are you reading? #ElDeafo #TheTigerRising

  1. Pingback: 3.16 It’s Monday! What are you reading? | {Eat the Book}

  2. I just downloaded Kate Dicamilla’s book on my Nook…..thanks for the suggestion. I love her writing…….Uncle Al

  3. Hello, again! I finished To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I know you’re lukewarm about this one, but I have to say, I unabashedly love this book. Harper Lee somehow manages to be witty and wise and charming, even when writing about the pernicious, pervasive racism of the Deep South in the 1930s. The device of telling the tale from Scout’s point of view allows the reader to be delighted by her innocence and naiveté while still absorbing the deeper and darker meaning to the events that transpire. I had read “Mockingbird” before, when it was assigned in high school. I read it this time to see if it holds up and to refresh my memory, in case I decide to read this weird upcoming sequel, Go Set a Watchman. It definitely holds up, in my opinion. And I’ll wait and see if “Watchman” is well-reviewed as a worthy follow-up to “Mockingbird.”

    Up next? The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Gaiman is another one of my go-to authors. As with Greg Rucka, I became familiar with Gaiman’s work in comic books and graphic novels. He wrote a brilliant series called The Sandman (no relation to the Spider-Man villain whose body is somehow made out of sand) and a bunch of other work for DC and Marvel. His novels are equally brilliant. I’ve read (and recommend) Good Omens, Stardust, Neverwhere, American Gods, Anansi Boys, and The Graveyard Book. So, I’m very much looking forward to The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I’ll let you know how it is once I’ve finished!

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

