10.13 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #IMWAYR #Crenshaw


Guess what today is!

 20120819-185816.jpg

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

& the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

 Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate
This is a strong follow up to Applegate’s Newbery-winning The One and Only Ivan. Applegate chooses again to tackle an issue with her novel. This time, it’s homelessness.
Jackson and his family are having a tough time making ends meet. They have come up with all different ways to deal and cope with the situation, but it is wearing on them. The last thing Jackson wants is to have to live in the family van again. Yet that’s exactly where they’re heading.
How can Crenshaw, Jackson’s imaginary childhood friend, help? You’ll have to read to find out.
This certainly makes me think more about how much financial struggles affect my students. The affects are far-reaching. I hope my AlphaStudents and families will be up-front with me as much as possible so I can be understanding of these difficult situations.
You can follow they MacKidsBooks Instagram page here.
Here is the site set up for Crenshaw.
Did you know you can follow MY Instagram account too??
 How many books did students in each class read last week?
What are they reading now?
Check it out:
Today we are going to continue using a site called Padlet to post BOOKselfies.
Click the links below at 10:00ish and 12:30 respectively to see all students’ posts.
BTW—guests are invited to post a BOOKselfie too. I’ve added mine to the Padlets.
Period 1&2 
16 books read
Period 5&6
15 books read
Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 1.08.18 PM

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

23566909
See?
23c605fa867d33d4a2302fafc26e978e
I came across a beautiful poem inside:
Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.
W.B. Yeats, The Wind Among the Reeds

The students sure liked the trailer we watched for it on Friday. There were actually some gasps 🙂
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
 
 
 
 
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
3 thoughts on “10.13 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #IMWAYR #Crenshaw

  1. Pingback: 10.19 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #IMWAYR #Marvels | {Eat the Book}

  2. I am reading The Girl You Left Behind by JoJo Moyes. I’m only a third of the way in, but so far it raises the question “How far would you go to save the one you love?” It is set during WWI in a German-occupied French town and the main character is utterly convincing. I would only recommend this book for high schoolers or older because of a few scenes.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

