1.4.16!!! It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #SomeOfTheParts

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

 Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

You’ve seen this book on my BOOK ON DECK pile for some time now. I’m glad to have finally read it.

This was an ARC that will be born on February 16th. You KNOW what day of the week that is…

I really enjoyed digging into this realistic fiction novel by Hannah Barnaby. I have a hard time imagining losing someone close to me. I get teary thinking about my mom or dad passing. I’ve never really thought about losing my sister—that would create a huge hole in my life.

That is the pain that Tallie and her family are dealing with.

Here is the description from IndieBound:

For fans of Love Letters to the Dead and I’ll Give You the Sun comes a heartrending story of a teen who sets out on an unusual quest.

 

For months, Tallie McGovern has been coping with the death of her older brother the only way she knows how: by smiling bravely and pretending that she’s okay. She’s managed to fool her friends, her parents, and her teachers, yet she can t even say his name out loud: “N ” is as far as she can go. Then Tallie comes across a letter in the mail, and it only takes two words to crack the careful facade she’s built up:
ORGAN DONOR.
Two words that had apparently been checked off on her brother’s driver’s license; two words that her parents knew about and never revealed to her. All at once, everything Tallie thought she understood about her brother’s death feels like a lie. And although a part of her knows he’s gone forever, another part of her wonders if finding the letter might be a sign. That if she can just track down the people on the other end of those two words, it might somehow bring him back.
Hannah Barnaby’s deeply moving novel asks questions there are no easy answers to as it follows a family struggling to pick up the pieces, and a girl determined to find the brother she wasn’t ready to let go of.

Tallie’s suffering was palpable: The aggravation with everyone asking her if she’s okay; seeing her parents tune out and fade out; desperately seeking a connection with her lost brother through music and memories. Tough to read—but an important and meaningful book to read.

One of the cool things about this book is that Barnaby used a song title for the title of each chapter.  That’s right up my alley. I also had fun tweeting back and forth with her about the songs. Here is the playlist on Spotify.

Put this one on your calendar.

A few favorite lines:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

• Everyone could see I was different. Of course I was, because what kind of person would I be if my brother died and I stayed exactly the same? But they still don’t know what the real change is, that I can’t make the words come out right, that I can’t feel anything the way I used to. That my heart is twisted, a knot I can’t unravel.
•Or maybe he knows that the plan is the only perfect part of the process. Once you set the plan in motion, things get messy, full of holes and unexpected trouble.

•Bad things happen, and we are not the same when they are over. But we go on.

 

• • •
Did you catch my MrEtkinSHMS Instagram posts this past week?
Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 3.41.07 PM
 How many books did students in each class read last week?
Period 1&2 read 22 books this past week.
{No BOOKselfies this week}
Period 5&6 read 5 books this past week.
{No BOOKselfies this week}

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Did anyone comment on last Monday’s blog post?

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

Just started Code of Honor, a WWII novel, and I’m already into it. It reminds me a bit ofNightdivided_XLG Nielsen’s
51117B9VzxL._SX200_QL80_Night
Divided
. Since my wife and I watched Amazon’s Man in
the High Castle 
over vacation, this seemed a fitting book to read next.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
 
25614492
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
One thought on “1.4.16!!! It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #SomeOfTheParts

  1. Pingback: 1.11.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? An A from Miss Keller | {Eat the Book}

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

