1.24.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Code of Honor

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

 Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

Tap to read a sample.

It was tough to stop reading this book. Partly because with terrorists and Homeland Security and spies and investigations and planned attacks, it is so pertinent today. There

Prisoner B-3087

Tap to read a sample.

was tons of action here, which I wasn’t expecting. I thought it would be more of a drama and an inner struggle than an in-the-middle-of-the-action thriller. Perhaps that’s my fault for not reading the blurb more carefully.

Regardless, this is a page-turner. If you are up for some action—and are willing to suspend disbelief just a tad, you’ll probably get a kick out of this one. It’s way different than Gratz’s Prisoner B-3087, but still a worthy read.
From Scholastic:

About This Book

From the acclaimed of author of Prisoner B-3087, a timely, heart-racing action-adventure about the War on Terror and the bond between brothers.

Kamran Smith has it all. He’s the star of the football team, dates the most popular girl in school, and can’t wait to enlist in the Army like his big brother, Darius. Although Kamran’s family hails from Iran, Kamran has always felt 100% American. Accepted.

And then everything implodes.

Darius is accused of being a terrorist. Kamran refuses to believe it, but the evidence is there; Darius has been filmed making threats against his country, hinting at an upcoming deadly attack. Kamran’s friends turn on him; suddenly, in their eyes he’s a terrorist, too.

Kamran knows it’s up to him to clear his brother’s name. In a race against time, Kamran must piece together a series of clues and codes that will lead him to Darius and the truth.

But is it a truth Kamran is ready to face? And is he putting his own life at risk?


Book orders are due today! Don’t miss out on the great books available for fantastic prices.

Order online and get a HUGE selection: scholastic.com/bookclubs

Class code: GML8J
• • •
Did you catch my MrEtkinSHMS Instagram posts this past week?
Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 3.41.07 PM
 How many books did students in each class read last week?
Period 1&2 read 20 books this past week.
Ready to see what these students are reading? Check out their BOOKselfies!!Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 1.08.06 PM
Period 5&6 read 12 books this past week.
Ready to see what these students are reading? Check out their BOOKselfies!!
Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 1.08.18 PM

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Did anyone comment on last Monday’s blog post?

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

25614492Wow. Another WWII historical Fiction novel. This comes out February 9th. It’s pretty amazing so far. Sepetys is so talented weaving four characters’ stories together.
From Barnes and Noble:
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s critically acclaimed #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Eleanor & Park
 
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
Advertisements

One thought on “1.24.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Code of Honor

  1. Pingback: 2.1.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Salt to the Sea | {Eat the Book}

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s