2.1.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Salt to the Sea

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!

 Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

… Lots of Interim assessments and blog posts… and half of my current book. SO GOOD!
This was how I spent part of my Sunday—at the Blood Mobile outside my church doing the Double Red Blood Cell donation.

Double Red Cell Donation

What Is It?

Double red cell donation is similar to a whole blood donation, except a special machine is used to allow you to safely donate two units of red blood cells during one donation while returning your plasma and platelets to you.

 

IMG_0905

CLEAN IT:

IMG_0906

STICK IT:

IMG_0907

IMG_0908

SQUEEZE IT & GRADE IT:

IMG_0909


Did you catch my MrEtkinSHMS Instagram posts this past week?
Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 3.41.07 PM
 How many books did students in each class read last week?
Period 1&2 read 16 books this past week.
Ready to see what these students are reading? Check out their BOOKselfies!!Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 1.08.06 PM
Period 5&6 read 17 books this past week.
Ready to see what these students are reading? Check out their BOOKselfies!!
Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 1.08.18 PM

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Did anyone comment on last Monday’s blog post?

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

 This is an AMAZING book so far. I’m 63% through. The book trailer was just released—Perhaps it’ll show up on Friday’s BOOKflix Friday. I can’t say enough so far.
25614492

Born on February 9th, 2016

From Barnes and Noble:
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, international bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war’s most devastating—yet unknown—tragedies.In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety.Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson’s critically acclaimed #1 NYT bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff—the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Eleanor & Park
 
 
Thanks,
David Etkin
Advertisements

5 thoughts on “2.1.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Salt to the Sea

  1. Pingback: 3.7.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | {Eat the Book}

  2. This is Jerriona grandma and I am reading Della’s Web written by Aphrodite Jones, it’s based on a true story of Marrige and murder, it’s a best selling book, I would give 5 stars because it shares mystery and true events.

  3. Pingback: 2.17.16 It’s…WEDNESDAY! What are you Reading? Macbeth & Nimona GNs | {Eat the Book}

  4. Pingback: 2.9.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? Salt to the Sea, Last Stop on Market Street, & Finding Winnie | {Eat the Book}

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s