9.30.16 {BOOKflix Friday} LOOT, STING… and the President

Today is BOOKflix Friday!

Few things can draw a reader to a new book like a book trailer can.

Get the popcorn ready.

Lights…Camera…Action!


Before we get to the BOOKflix, take a look at our AlphaVideo that we showed the parents at open house last night:
screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-9-42-13-am
From the author of
comes
(Have you seen it at the book fair?)
•••••
Can we change the world?
Really?
Let’s hear what Kid President has to say about it…
I like this picture…
screen-shot-2016-09-30-at-9-38-16-am
Advertisements

9.26.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

This is the Part Where You Laugh

A very interesting book for high schoolers. Travis has sure been dealt a terrible hand. It doesn’t seem fair that so much difficult stuff can happen to one person. The book had a sudden ending that I keep thinking about. I might have to contact the author.

That being said: I really liked the book. I was engrossed from chapter one. I like books that start with a bang. The relationships were so interesting—how Travis deals with his sick grandmother, his aloof grandfather, his best friend “Creature”, his coach, and the cute new girl. I’m looking forward to my students reading this when they’re older.

From Barnes and Noble:

Travis plans to spend the summer as follows:

   • Working on his basketball game with his friend, Creature.
   • Reading excerpts from Creature’s novel-in-progress: Guide to Russian Princesses.
   • Canoeing around the lake, trying to catch a glimpse of the beautiful girl who just moved in.
   • Not getting into trouble, not going back to juvie . . .
   • Searching the homeless camps for his mother, with a jar full of cash to help her get back on her feet.

From a powerful new voice in YA literature comes an unforgettable account of growing up, making mistakes, and growing out of the shadow of drug abuse.

***

Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
Soon we will keep track of how much reading we are doing together as a class. This is what it will look like:
 How many books did students in each class read?

PERIOD 2&3 READ 13 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

PERIOD 8&9 READ 19 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s take a look to see if any parents commented on last week’s IM! WAYR? post…

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

Moo

audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Image result for bone gap

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
School of the Dead
Never Missing, Never Found

9.19 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

 

I’m sad to say I didn’t finish a book, but I’m really enjoying both my audio book and my book on my iPad/phone. I really like how Kindle syncs on my phone and iPad so I can read whenever and wherever.

***

Did you see the big news?

screen-shot-2016-09-18-at-9-56-36-pm

***

Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
Soon we will keep track of how much reading we are doing together as a class. This is what it will look like:
 How many books did students in each class read?

PERIOD 2&3 READ 8 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

PERIOD 8&9 READ 11 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s take a look to see if any parents commented on last week’s IM! WAYR? post…

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

This is the Part Where You Laugh

audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Image result for bone gap

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Moo Pennies For HitlerJuba!
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
School of the Dead
Never Missing, Never Found

9.16.16 {BOOKflix Friday} Ghosts

Today is BOOKflix Friday!

Few things can draw a reader to a new book like a book trailer can.

Get the popcorn ready.

Lights…Camera…Action!


It’s finally OUT!
From the author of fan favorites
comes…
screen-shot-2016-09-15-at-11-50-44-pm

About This Book

Catrina and her family are moving to the coast of Northern California because her little sister, Maya, is sick. Cat isn’t happy about leaving her friends for Bahía de la Luna, but Maya has cystic fibrosis and will benefit from the cool, salty air that blows in from the sea. As the girls explore their new home, a neighbor lets them in on a secret: There are ghosts in Bahía de la Luna. Maya is determined to meet one, but Cat wants nothing to do with them. As the time of year when ghosts reunite with their loved ones approaches, Cat must figure out how to put aside her fears for her sister’s sake — and her own.

Raina Telgemeier has masterfully created a moving and insightful story about the power of family and friendship, and how it gives us the courage to do what we never thought possible.

•••

Since it’s the beginning of the year…and I do have it hanging on my wall…I need to show THIS book trailer. It’s an amazing book. It you haven’t read it yet, you definitely should:

You might also want to read it because….
On April 7…
screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-22-30-am
screen-shot-2016-09-16-at-7-22-48-am

9.12 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

Bounce

 

Overview from Barnes and Noble

The author of The Swap delivers another hilarious, heartwarming, and empoweringTitle: The Swap, Author: Megan Shull novel about a girl who relives the same day over and over again—each time as someone new. Perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Holly Goldberg Sloan, and Meg Cabot.

Seventh grader Frannie Hudson wonders what it would be like to trade in her family for a new one. Her big brother ignores her. Her mean older sister can’t stand her. And her parents have just announced they’re going on a last-minute vacation—without her.

When Frannie makes one desperate, crazy wish—BOOM!—she magically bounces into a whole new life, with a totally different family. And. It. Is. Amazing! There’s only one catch: waking up as someone else keeps happening. Plunged into lives and adventures she’s only imagined—from being a pop star to meeting one super-cute boy—Frannie finds courage in the unforgettable friends and families she meets along the way. But as her new life spins out of control, Frannie begins to worry if she’ll ever get back home.

A celebration of the power of love and connection, Megan Shull’s extraordinary new novel captures one girl’s journey to find her voice, heal her heart, and discover the joy of bouncing back.

At first I had a difficult time getting into the characters—especially Frannie’s older sister. But once Frannie starts Bouncing into different bodies, things picked up quickly. I was anxious each time to see where Frannie would end up and if she would make it home.

That’s all I can say. You’ll have to read the rest to find out more.

•••

Grasshopper JungleGrasshopper Jungle

This book was pure craziness. And definitely a high school+ book. I listened to the audio over the summer and just finished it this weekend. Whoa.

From B&N:

“Grasshopper Jungle is a rollicking tale that is simultaneously creepy and hilarious. Its propulsive plot would be delightful enough on its own, but Smith’s ability to blend teenage drama into a bug invasion is a literary joy to behold… Smith may have intended this novel for young adults, but his technique reminds me of Kurt Vonnegut’s in “Slaughterhouse Five,” in the best sense.” New York Times Book Review

In the small town of Ealing, Iowa, Austin and his best friend, Robby, have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army…of hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two things.

 

This is the truth. This is history.
It’s the end of the world. And nobody knows anything about it.
You know what I mean.

 

Funny, intense, complex, and brave, Grasshopper Jungle brilliantly weaves together everything from testicle-dissolving genetically modified corn to the struggles of recession-era, small-town America in this groundbreaking coming-of-age stunner from the author of The Alex Crow andWinger.

***

Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
After reading Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great last week, I doctored up our photo and tweeted it to the author. HE SAW IT! Look:
fullsizerender-41 How about a bigger view:
cr3qewywcaeqglo
Soon we will keep track of how much reading we are doing together as a class. This is what it will look like:
 How many books did students in each class read?

PERIOD 2&3 READ ?? BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

 Take a look at their book selfies.
(Yes, you will be posting weekly selfies of you and the book you’re currently reading.)

PERIOD 8&9 READ BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

  Take a look at their book selfies.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

This is the Part Where You Laugh

audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Image result for bone gap

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Moo Pennies For HitlerJuba!
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
School of the Dead
Never Missing, Never Found