9.12 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

Bounce

 

Overview from Barnes and Noble

The author of The Swap delivers another hilarious, heartwarming, and empoweringTitle: The Swap, Author: Megan Shull novel about a girl who relives the same day over and over again—each time as someone new. Perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Holly Goldberg Sloan, and Meg Cabot.

Seventh grader Frannie Hudson wonders what it would be like to trade in her family for a new one. Her big brother ignores her. Her mean older sister can’t stand her. And her parents have just announced they’re going on a last-minute vacation—without her.

When Frannie makes one desperate, crazy wish—BOOM!—she magically bounces into a whole new life, with a totally different family. And. It. Is. Amazing! There’s only one catch: waking up as someone else keeps happening. Plunged into lives and adventures she’s only imagined—from being a pop star to meeting one super-cute boy—Frannie finds courage in the unforgettable friends and families she meets along the way. But as her new life spins out of control, Frannie begins to worry if she’ll ever get back home.

A celebration of the power of love and connection, Megan Shull’s extraordinary new novel captures one girl’s journey to find her voice, heal her heart, and discover the joy of bouncing back.

At first I had a difficult time getting into the characters—especially Frannie’s older sister. But once Frannie starts Bouncing into different bodies, things picked up quickly. I was anxious each time to see where Frannie would end up and if she would make it home.

That’s all I can say. You’ll have to read the rest to find out more.

•••

Grasshopper JungleGrasshopper Jungle

This book was pure craziness. And definitely a high school+ book. I listened to the audio over the summer and just finished it this weekend. Whoa.

From B&N:

“Grasshopper Jungle is a rollicking tale that is simultaneously creepy and hilarious. Its propulsive plot would be delightful enough on its own, but Smith’s ability to blend teenage drama into a bug invasion is a literary joy to behold… Smith may have intended this novel for young adults, but his technique reminds me of Kurt Vonnegut’s in “Slaughterhouse Five,” in the best sense.” New York Times Book Review

In the small town of Ealing, Iowa, Austin and his best friend, Robby, have accidentally unleashed an unstoppable army…of hungry, six-foot-tall praying mantises that only want to do two things.

 

This is the truth. This is history.
It’s the end of the world. And nobody knows anything about it.
You know what I mean.

 

Funny, intense, complex, and brave, Grasshopper Jungle brilliantly weaves together everything from testicle-dissolving genetically modified corn to the struggles of recession-era, small-town America in this groundbreaking coming-of-age stunner from the author of The Alex Crow andWinger.

***

Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
After reading Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great last week, I doctored up our photo and tweeted it to the author. HE SAW IT! Look:
fullsizerender-41 How about a bigger view:
cr3qewywcaeqglo
Soon we will keep track of how much reading we are doing together as a class. This is what it will look like:
 How many books did students in each class read?

PERIOD 2&3 READ ?? BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

 Take a look at their book selfies.
(Yes, you will be posting weekly selfies of you and the book you’re currently reading.)

PERIOD 8&9 READ BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

  Take a look at their book selfies.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

This is the Part Where You Laugh

audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Image result for bone gap

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Moo Pennies For HitlerJuba!
The Secret Life of Lincoln Jones
School of the Dead
Never Missing, Never Found
Advertisements

13 thoughts on “9.12 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    • Thank you for coming on the blog and sharing your reading with us. Jim Kelly has quite an amazing story. If you are able to, always comment on the most recent Monday post. That is the one we looked at in the class the following week. Thanks again!

  1. Pingback: 9.26.16 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? | {Eat the Book}

  2. Pingback: 9.19 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? | {Eat the Book}

    • Definitely not too late! We’ll check this tomorrow.

      Do you often read YA (young adult) books? I’m very curious to see how the movie handles the complex plot and special effects. Hmmm…maybe I’ll show that book and movie trailer soon👍🏻

      Thanks for following and commenting.

  3. I am reading Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

    On Mon, Sep 12, 2016 at 6:07 AM, {Eat the Book} wrote:

    > David E. posted: “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? {Celebrating the > books we’ve read in the past week & the titles we are currently reading.} > This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks! > Overview from Barnes and ” >

  4. I forgot to add that the book I am currently reading is “Hope and Healing for Yor Breast Cancer Journey”, by Dr Julie Silver.

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s