2.25.19 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}


 
 
 
 

9781338053807

 

Description from IndieBound

Chase’s memory just went out the window. 

Chase doesn’t remember falling off the roof. He doesn’t remember hitting his head. He doesn’t, in fact, remember anything. He wakes up in a hospital room and suddenly has to learn his whole life all over again . . . starting with his own name. 

He knows he’s Chase. But who is Chase? When he gets back to school, he sees that different kids have very different reactions to his return. 

Some kids treat him like a hero. Some kids are clearly afraid of him. 

One girl in particular is so angry with him that she pours her frozen yogurt on his head the first chance she gets. 

Pretty soon, it’s not only a question of who Chase is–it’s a question of who he was . . . and who he’s going to be. 

From the #1 bestselling author of Swindle and Slacker, Restart is the spectacular story of a kid with a messy past who has to figure out what it means to get a clean start.

 

My thoughts…

This was a fascinating premise for a book. To re-enter your life not even knowing yourself, not knowing (or liking) your friends and who you used to hang out with, not knowing your own history… man that is messed up.

It was great fun watching Chase wander around confused, and witnessing him wrestle with what he was learning about the way he he used to be. It didn’t take hime to long to realize he was a Grade A jerk

Here was the thing I was wrestling with as I read and watched in my head: Chase changed, sure. But he changed as a result of an accident. He didn’t realize anything new or grow — he had an accident. And though I’m GLAD his personality changed and he came back a nice guy…. he didn’t have any choice in the matter. It would have felt unnatural for him to go back to being the jerky jock he was before he fell out the window. Yes, it made for a fun story.

A story where a character has to wrestle with who he is, what others think about him, the desire he has to change–and what inspired that desire–and how much easer it would be to go back to being the same person he was before… that would be a tale I could sink my teeth into. Those are things we all need to wrestle with. Who am I? Who do I want to be? Am I willing to make the change even though it’s difficult and it will cost me?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

 

WHAT ABOUT YOU?

LET’S RING THE BELL!

Period 2&3 read 10 books this past week.

Period 5&6 read 25 books this past week.

Period 8&9 read 15 books this past week.


 

9781328557469

And from the author of Hello, Lighthouse…

9780761163589

 

 
 

AUDIO BOOK


IMG_3A9DC3D4E14F-1

National Book Award and Golden Kite Honor Award Winner!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

turtles-all-the-way-down-4

UP NEXT:

301053923920179215

  


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s