Building Conversations Around Short Stories

The most memorable reading I’ve done is when I’ve been able to discuss what I’ve read.

We have been reading short stories in class to build our conversations skills and prepare for reading partnerships.

We read Thank You, M’am by Langston Hughes. It’s one of my favorites. I’m sure you will enjoy it too, and will have a fun time talking about it over dinner tonight. (The story starts on page 3 of the link–you’ll see.) The students had a good time talking about the story in their small groups today, as you can see in this video:

Partnerships will be forming and books will be chosen over the next couple days. This discussion practice is imperative for successful partnerships. I look forward to sharing more of our work with you.

4 thoughts on “Building Conversations Around Short Stories

    • Moody, I’m honored that you wrote that about me. I’m glad you are happy in my class. You are growing so much as a reader. Is school here very different than in Jordan?

  1. I love seeing the children in your class up and about in the classroom. It is so great to see them all working together and inspiring each other to read and talk about what they are reading!!

    • Thanks for that. I admit there are times when I just pause and look around my room and smile, thinking, “I have the best job.”

Don't be shy--leave a reply: