5.7 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

A new week, a new batch of books–both books finished and being read. Today is…

Ring-the-Bell Monday

{Wherein we share what books we have read in the past week.}

&

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Wherein we share the titles we are currently reading.}

Ring-the-Bell Monday

20120117-111701.jpg

This week I read:

I know I already posted about Boy + Bot, but our class had so much fun with it–and author Ame Dyckman was awesomely responsive–I thought it was worth a reprise here.

Ms. Dyckman immediately sent us stickers and bookmarks…

…and this great letter.

 For a change of pace, instead of sharing a book I read, I’m sharing a book I abandoned. WHY? Because I want my students to see that every book is not for every person. I rarely abandon books, but there are times when a book isn’t working for me and I need to realize it as quickly as I can so I can move on to a book that does work.

Even though Code Name Verity came recommended–and because it was recommended I gave it more of a chance than usual–I finally go to the point where I was ready to put it aside and move on.

Here is part of the conversation I had with @HannahlilyS:

Have you ever abandoned a book?

Here is how many books my classes have read:

Class A

| | | | | | | | | | | | | | = 14

Class B

| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | = 18

Class C:

| | | | | | | | | | | | | |  = 14 


[Check out the home of “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading”: Teach Mentor Texts — and the spin-off: Sharpreads]

This week, I am reading:

This book by the author of the Newbery medal winning When You Reach Me is due out on October 7.

What are the REST of you reading?

10 thoughts on “5.7 Ring-the-Bell Monday & It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. It’s wonderful that you and the students are able to communicate with authors so often and efficiently. When I was in 3rd grade, everyone in my class had to write a formal letter to an author of choice. Most of the students didn’t receive responses and those who did, myself included, got a generic letter sent from the publisher. Only a handful received personal responses. It’s amazing to see how technology can enhance our learning and classroom experiences.

    • I agree. I sometimes wonder how I would have been different as a reader if I had the Internet to research authors and had been able to communicate with them via Twitter, Facebook, or email. Have you read THE FAULT IN ILOUR STARS?

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. I fully agree HS!!! It is fabulous that your students know it’s OK ! I am reading WONDER…1/3 through, I am enjoying it !!

  3. Thinking about what it is like as an author. Just finished The Lantern by Deborah Lawrenson, published last year. Started out great – very beautiful language, gorgeous writing. By 2/3rds of the way through the author seemed to run out of gas, the story was working towards resolution but the intricate plot overtook the writing itself and the tone changed. Loved the start, lost me before it ended but I was already committed and wanted to see it through…Thanks for letting kids know that reading is personal enough to abandon something that just isn’t right for them.

    • It’s great to hear these parent tales of book un-love. It’s amazing how the feel of a book can change so drastically from beginning to the end. what was the publisher thinking?

      You should know I read a fun poem today. 🙂

  4. I like that you are letting your students know it is OK to “abandon” a book and move on. I have had to from time to time as well, and it is a good thing to teach the kids that they don’t have to like every book they read.

    I am almost finished with THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN. I like it so far. It is a nice story.

    I love the Boy + Bot stickers!!!!

  5. Life is too short to read books you don’t like! (although you will regret abandoning this one when it wins the Printz…just kidding!) Seriously, though, what a great example to set for your kids. It’s so important for them to know that it’s ok to stop reading a book they don’t like and that there is another book just waiting for them that will be perfect!

    • Thank you for commenting. I thought I’d use my experience as a “teachable moment”. I knew you’d understand. On to the next book!

Don't be shy--leave a reply:

