4.28.17 {BOOKflix Friday} #5TrailerFriday

Today is BOOKflix Friday!

Few things can draw a reader to a new book like a book trailer can.

Get the popcorn ready.

Lights…Camera…Action!


Advertisements

4.24.17 #IMWAYR #AskThePassengers

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

 

I finished another audiobook:

Again, this is a more mature book, but the characters and writing style were so compelling. I like how King used the main character’s study of Greek philosophers to dig at some of the deeper questions. I like fantasy and dystopian books, but I can get “into” a realistic fiction book so quickly. The characters are so real.

One of the main things that Astrid does when she feels alone is to go out to her backyard and lay on the picnic table. She looks at the planes flying overhead and sends them her love. Strange right? But it fits the story so perfectly. When I finished listening to the book while walking my dog, I paused to send A. S. King a message. And she responded:

•••

Some picture books, too…

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s take a look to see if any parents commented on last week’s IM! WAYR? post.


Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
 How many books did students in each class read?

This is for three weeks of reading…

PERIOD 2&3 READ 11 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

PERIOD 8&9 READ 15 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

Tap to read

audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 3.13.51 PM
 saved-world-200

4.18.17 #IMWAYR #TowersFalling #CourageHasNoColor #SimonVsHomosapiens

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

Juba!AUDIO BOOK

In New York Times bestselling author Walter Dean Myers’s final novel, he delivers a gripping story based on the life of a real dancer known as “Master Juba,” who lived in the nineteenth century.

This engaging historical novel follows the meteoric rise of an immensely talented young black dancer, William Henry Lane, who influenced today’s tap, jazz dance, and step. With meticulous and intensive research, Walter Dean Myers has brought to life Juba’s story.

The novel includes photographs, maps, and other images from Juba’s time, as well as an afterword from Walter Dean Myers’s wife, Constance Myers, about the writing process of Juba!

This book was decent. Not great. It was interesting to hear the descriptions of the dancing and try to visualize what was happening. The end seemed rather abrupt, but realistic—which it was, since this is based on a real person and events.

AUDIO BOOK

What do you do when you’re blackmailed and someone threatens to reveal something about your that NO ONE else knows? Simon plays along, but as you can imagine, things spin out of control. How will it work out? Mature content.

 A 2014 YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Finalist

“An exceptionally well-researched, lovingly crafted, and important tribute to unsung American heroes.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

World War II is raging, and thousands of American soldiers are fighting overseas against the injustices brought on by Hitler. Back on the home front, discrimination against African Americans plays out as much on Main Street as in the military. Tanya Lee Stone examines the little-known history of the Triple Nickles, America’s first black paratroopers, who fought in an attack on the American West by the Japanese. The 555th Parachute Infantry Battalion, in the words of First Sergeant Walter Morris, “proved that the color of a man had nothing to do with his ability.”
Front matter includes a foreword by Ashley Bryan. Back matter includes an author’s note, an appendix, a time line, source notes, a bibliography, and an index.

I’ve had this book for some time. It’s been on my nightstand. Finally I picked it up and finished it. It was interesting to learn about the racism that permeated the military. How could men who wanted to fight for their country be treated so poorly? It’s sad.

Overall I didn’t love the book, but I’m glad I read it. The most interesting part? Learning about Japanese Balloon Bombs.. Yep—it’s a real part of history. Look it up.

 

From award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes, a powerful novel set fifteen years after the 9/11 attacks.

When her fifth-grade teacher hints that a series of lessons about home and community will culminate with one big answer about two tall towers once visible outside their classroom window, Deja can’t help but feel confused. She sets off on a journey of discovery, with new friends Ben and Sabeen by her side. But just as she gets closer to answering big questions about who she is, what America means, and how communities can grow (and heal), she uncovers new questions, too. Like, why does Pop get so angry when she brings up anything about the towers?

Award-winning author Jewell Parker Rhodes tells a powerful story about young people who weren’t alive to witness this defining moment in history, but begin to realize how much it colors their every day.

As a teacher I often struggle with how much to tell my students about 9/11. Are they too innocent to hear? To see? To know all the details? The kids in this book are one year younger than my students, but it still hit home.

If you want thoughtful-but-not-gratuitous approach to the events of 9/11, this is the perfect book.

 

From Barnes and Noble

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s take a look to see if any parents commented on last week’s IM! WAYR? post.


Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
 How many books did students in each class read?

This is for three weeks of reading…

PERIOD 2&3 READ 35 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

PERIOD 8&9 READ 24 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

???
“The best laid plans….”
audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 3.13.51 PM
 saved-world-200

4.3 It’s Monday! What are you Reading? #IMWAYR #NeverMissingNeverFound

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

{Celebrating the books we’ve read in the past week

&

the titles we are currently reading.}

This meme is originated by Jen and Kellee at TeachMentorTexts. Thanks!


Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.25.24 PM

From Barnes and Noble

A clever thriller about a girl who returns after being kidnapped and the terrible choices she must make when another girl disappears. For fans of We Were Liars and The Darkest Corners.

Some choices change everything. Scarlett chose to run. And the consequences will be deadly.
 
Stolen from her family as a young girl, Scarlett was lucky enough to eventually escape her captor. Now a teen, she’s starting a summer job at an amusement park. There are cute boys, new friends, and the chance to finally have a normal life.
 
Her first day on the job, Scarlett is shocked to discover that a girl from the park has gone missing. Old memories come rushing back. And now as she meets her new coworkers, one of the girls seems strangely familiar. When Scarlett chose to run all those years ago, what did she set in motion? And when push comes to shove, how far will she go to uncover the truth . . . before it’s too late? 

This book took me a long time to read–partially because I was reading too late at night and kept falling asleep after a couple pages.

It took a while for me to get really into the book, but once I did I MADE time to read. Honestly, that was about halfway through. The narrative bounced back and forth between the now Scarlett and her life trying to get along with her family and work at the theme park over the summer and the then Scarlett who was living in the basement as a captive worker of some strange lady’s house. The captive part of the story was particularly interesting.

And yes, there is a crazywicked twist towards the end. Don’t worry–I won’t spoil it.

For every parent who leaves a comment on TODAY’S POST with what YOU’RE reading, I’ll give your child a BUSTED ticket…

Let’s take a look to see if any parents commented on last week’s IM! WAYR? post.


Did you catch my
this past week?
screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-8-35-58-pm
 How many books did students in each class read?

This is for three weeks of reading…

PERIOD 2&3 READ 28 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

PERIOD 8&9 READ 32 BOOKS THIS PAST WEEK.

Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.27.33 PM

(I think)
audio-books

AUDIO BOOK

Juba!

(45 minutes left…)
Screen Shot 2013-01-15 at 9.39.48 PM
Screen Shot 2017-03-06 at 3.13.51 PM
 saved-world-200